Academic Performance, GMAS Skip to main content
End-of-Grade Tests (Grades Three through Eight)

End-of-Grade Tests

Elementary students will begin testing on April 10, whereas middle school students will begin on April 9.  The EOGs are administered in the following order: English/Language Arts, Math, Science, Social Studies. All students will take the EOGs online. The Georgia Department of Education now considers online as the primary mode of testing.

All students in grades three through eight will take the English/Language Arts and Mathematics tests for their grade level. For grades five and eight, students will also take tests in the areas of Science and Social Studies.

Performance Levels

Georgia has developed a specific set of academic performance standards or expectations at each grade level for all students.  The results provide teachers with valuable information about each child’s academic achievement and progress and aids them in designing an educational program for students.

Students are not compared to each other, but are measured on how well they are meeting academic standards. Student achievement in each content area will be classified into four performance levels:  Beginning Learner, Developing Learner, Proficient Learner, or Distinguished Learner.

Required Performance Guidelines & Promotion

A student’s performance on the EOGs will also assist in determining promotion to the next grade level for all students. Students in grades three, five and eight that do not meet the required performance guidelines will be provided remediation and an opportunity to retest. The Georgia Department of Education's State Board of Education has established these specific performance guidelines for grades three, five, and eight:

Third grade students must score At Grade Level or Above in reading.

Fifth grade students must score At Grade Level or Above in reading and at least at the Developing Learner Level in mathematics.

Eighth grade students must score At Grade Level or Above in reading and at least at the Developing Learner Level in mathematics.

Test Results

Bulloch County Schools will provide each student's test results to parents and schools as soon as they are made available by the state.  We expect preliminary reports to be available by early to mid-May 2019. Official paper copies for parents and student records are expected in early summer.

Bulloch County Schools GMAS Data


Academic Performance, GMAS

Georgia Milestones Assessment System

Bulloch County Schools will administer the annual Georgia Milestones' End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to third through eighth-grade students April 9-25, 2019, and the End-of-Course (EOC) tests to grades nine through twelve beginning April 29. All public schools in Georgia are required by state and federal law to administer assessments which measure how well students are learning the knowledge and skills  they have been taught from the academic content standards.